Coming soon… Japan 日本!

IMG_9426
^ The floating torii, Itsukushima-jinja, Miyajima
IMG_0429
^ Gaijin…

Tokyo > Fukuyama > Tomo-no-ura > Iwakuni > Miyajima > Hiroshima > Himeji > Kyoto > Higashiyama > Nara > Arashiyama > Kawaguchi-ko > Mt. Fuji > Tokyo

Phew, it’s been some trip… so far! It’s night time and I’m sitting in the shadow of Mt. Fuji or Fujisan as he likes to be known. I only caught the briefest of glimpses of the gigantic mountain through dusky clouds as I arrived in Kawaguchi-ko. I already know I’m going to love it here. This series of posts was supposed to begin the second I arrived in my pokey Tokyo business hotel. But now, with two days left on my JR Pass, cramps in my feet, and an 11pm curfew at our minshuku, I guess it is as good a time as any to start writing it all down. Over the next few weeks you can look forward to:

Carp, maple leaves, and all that good stuff
IMG_9556
^ Carp at Kōkō-en gardens, Himeji
IMG_9735
^ Maple leaves at Kamigamo-jinja, Kyoto

Surviving Typhoon Vongfong
IMG_9460
^ Himeji-jō, Himeji

Adorable deer and their secret, evil agendas (hint: they bite): See the post here.IMG_9372
^ Nihonjika or Japanese deer at Miyajima

Temples, temples, and more beautiful temples
IMG_9054
^ Dragon water font at Fukuzenji, Tomo-no-ura

Ponyo’s home town (well, Sasuke’s really): See the post here.
IMG_9171
^ Ponyo ornament at Tomo-no-ura

Plus, BONUS FEATURE, being a veggie in Japan: not as scary as googling it would have you believe…: See the post here.
IMG_0533
^ Delicious vegetarian udon din-dins at Omen, Higashiyama, Kyoto

And of course, loads more, I haven’t even done Tokyo yet! x

IMG_0628
^ One-thousand paper crane strings at Fushimi-Inari Taisha

Leave a comment